Picking Up the Figurative Pen

Hello there.

I’m Pearl. I haven’t posted here before.

Yeah, I know. The blog’s been around for quite a while now, and I’m only just now coming on to start writing. I’m slow.

It’s not that I don’t like writing. Quite the opposite. I love writing. I’ve been writing stories and journal entries and sarcastic essays since I was five. Longer, even (well, maybe not the essays; those came later, after school started). I’ve written three (very short) books, most of a fourth, and part of a fifth. I love writing.

So why has it taken me so long to make an appearance here?

The truth is, I don’t exactly know. For the past several months, I’ve been strangely burnt out on writing. My NaNoWriMo book only reached 18,000 words, a record low. I’ve barely touched my journal(s). The last several essays and short stories assigned me during my high school career just… didn’t end up happening. I got invited to participate on an awesome nerd blog called Semicolons Forever, and months went by without a word from me.

And it’s felt so wrong. I feel like a doused flame. A broken motor. A stormy sea gone eerily calm. Where in the world are my words?

I don’t know. I don’t care. Because, frankly, it’s gotten old. And this summer, I AM GOING TO WRITE.

My motivation or lack thereof is irrelevant. I still have my ideas, and my skill, and my stubborn pride. If I have to force it, I will. This summer, I will write.

I’m starting another book. At this point, I’ve told so many people that I’m doing it that I no longer have a choice. I’ve got my plot, my characters, my enthusiasm, my OTP, and my first two pages.

I’m posting on this blog. Maybe I’ll find random fantastic words to ramble about. Maybe I’ll gush about my favorite authors. Maybe I’ll complain about the poor grammar of my friends and acquaintances. Maybe I’ll post regular updates on how the book’s going. Maybe I’ll do it all.

This summer, I am once more picking up my pen to write (or rather, picking up my fingers to press the computer keys). And nothing, nothing, is going to stop me.

Here’s to this summer.

~Pearl Clayton

2 thoughts on “Picking Up the Figurative Pen

  1. Just for the record, I’ve totally been there with the lack of motivation. I usually wait it out, but there are times when it gets old and you just have to force it. Congrats (Ish. I think) on reaching that point.
    And, before I forget, OH MY GOD THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR FINALLY POSTING ON HERE!!! I THOUGHT I WAS ALONE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!
    *coughcough* So. Yeah. Here’s to this summer. :-D
    -Cara

    1. Hooray for shared authorial experience! And once again, I apologize for taking so long to get with the program. You’re not alone in the world. :)

Leave a Reply

