Editing: The Adventure Begins

...The EndLast night, at approximately 5:30 PM, something momentous happened: I finished rewriting Novel #2 with a final tally (for this draft, at least) of 67,841 words.

Allow me to translate this into Excited  Teenage Girl for a moment:

OH MY GOD, I, LIKE, TOTALLY FINISHED MY BOOK AGAIN!  AND NOW I GOT TO, LIKE, EDIT, AND IT’S GOING TO BE A. MAZ. ING.  Totes.

*coughcough*  But, seriously, I finished my book again.  And now I get to finish it again!  I got it printed and bound for $35, it’s ready today, and I get to go into my grammar despot, editor-in-the-making wonderland.

Is it weird that I’m way more excited about editing than drafting?  I feel like it’s weird.

I also feel like I don’t care.

BECAUSE I’M DONE REWRITING.  AND NOW I CAN FINALLY EDIT.

editing

I love today.

Cara Kennaway

5 thoughts on “Editing: The Adventure Begins

  1. It’s definitely weird that you’re way more excited about editing than drafting. Not that you care.

    So anyway, it’s been a few weeks now – how’s the editing going? I’m eagerly awaiting the day I get to read it again, you know.

  2. Ha! Thanks for your gentle assurances that I’m totally normal and definitely not ending up in the crazy bin. (Oh, wait. Sorry, the Voices in my head and I forgot for a minute that that last sentence was from someone else’s life. Sorry. Carry on.) Still not caring, though. :-D

    Editing is going well. I’m done content editing (thank God), so now I’ve moved on to line editing (YAY! It’s so much fun!), which is taking a while, but is still awesome. Copy editing is next, then a final read-through, and then it’s all yours. :-D

Leave a Reply

