Day 15: Sine Die

Word of the Day:

sine die

adverb

without fixing a day for future action or meeting: The assembly adjourned sine die.

Okay, then.

William—

It was a terrible imposition, you forcing me to stand my reading list up like a prom date, to reschedule my late-night date with Woolf sine die.  My bookshelves probably haven’t quite recovered yet, and I know I certainly haven’t.

I know that your reasoning seemed important to you at the time, but you must look at this logically:  Millie was already dead when you got the call, and nothing would have saved her.  Convincing me like that at the last minute to give you a ride solved nothing.  It did not allow you to be with her in her final moments, and it did not save her life.  Rather, in incurred the wrath of my bookshelf and the disappointment of me, which, in the end, actually decreased whatever sympathy you might have gotten for your loss.

Next time tragedy strikes, I implore you to find a way to deal with it that does not involve interrupting my favorite pastime.  It may seem harsh, but I really must insist that your canary is slightly less important than my classics.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Leonard

Cara Kennaway

7 thoughts on “Day 15: Sine Die

  1. You know, after William’s insensitivy and Leonard’s decision to send such a letter to his friend in the midst of his grieving, I feel this friendship can’t last much longer. A shame, really.

    This is great, though. Quite amusing. Bravo.

  2. Perhaps, in a way, it was Evan’s own fault for agreeing to part sine die. Though some might say he could have had no way of knowing what the result would be (or, indeed, that communication between them would cease so shortly afterward), the fact remains that if he had insisted upon arranging a future encounter right then, if he had moved to make any sort of plan or offered any real security, Timothy could undoubtedly have been convinced to accept it and would have had less reason to feel so hopeless.

    But such things can only be fully realized in retrospect, and the events unfolded themselves inevitably. Evan and Timothy, after being the closest and most inseparable of friends all the way through their first grade year, saw nothing of each other over the course of the summer following, with tragic result. Evan entered second grade, steadfast and eager to see Timothy again, only to discover they Timothy’s affections had been transferred to another of their classmates. In response to Evan’s tearful inquiries as to the reason for this betrayal, Timothy only shrugged and answered,

    “I didn’t know if you still wanted to be friends. My mom didn’t hear from your mom ever. ‘Sides, Joey’s got more Power Rangers than you.”

    It was a difficult lesson to learn, and it was many years before Evan could be said to be fully recovered from it. But such is life.

    1. P. S. I just realized that it says Ian in the first paragraph and Evan everywhere else. My apologies for any confusion this caused. Pretend the first sentence says Evan. Again, my apologies.

      1. Ah, the heart wrenching story of unrequited first love—my heart is quite broken. (Deeply amusing.) Well done.

        (If you want to fix the Ian/Evan discrepancy, you can edit your comment…)

          1. *wipes away a tear* *sniffles* And all because of Power Rangers! *sobs openly*

            (I knew you did—just wanted to give you a friendly reminder…*nods equally awkwardly*)

Leave a Reply

