Day 22: Dudgeon

Word of the Day:

dudgeon

noun

  1. a feeling of offense or resentment; anger: We left in high dudgeon.
  2. Obsolete. a kind of wood used especially for the handles of knives, daggers, etc.
  3. Obsolete. a handle or hilt made of this wood.
  4. Obsolete. a dagger having such a hilt.

Alright.  Here we go.  (Also, I reserve the right to use one of the obsolete definitions.)

Honestly, you threaten a man with a dudgeon once, and he’ll never let you live it down.

“I’m just saying,” he protested laughingly.  “It was quite a first meeting; that’s all.”

“Well, how was I supposed to know you weren’t there to kill me?” I demanded.

“You weren’t,” he said.  “You were perfectly justified.  Now we have an excellent story to tell when people at our wedding ask how we met.”

“Don’t you dare,” I threatened, but there was no real heat behind it.

He laughed, and I stormed off in mock dudgeon.

Five months later, I nearly ruined my perfect, white dress by spilling red wine when he told my mother, “Oh, yes, funny story:  We met when I broke into a prison to rescue her, and she almost slit my throat because she thought I was there to kill her.  Quite a misunderstanding, but you can’t deny that it worked out for the best.”

Fun fact:  This is my fiftieth post on Semicolons Forever.  Internet chocolate all around!

Cara Kennaway

5 thoughts on “Day 22: Dudgeon

  1. “I don’t see why you need to be in such dudgeon about it. It’s just a little family gathering. It’ll take three hours, be over before you know it, and then we can go home.”

    “No. I’m not coming.”

    “Please. For me.”

    “You don’t want to go, either!”

    “No, I don’t, but I have to. And so do you.”

    “I’m telling you, it’s not happening.”

    “You’re being childish.”

    “*I’m* being childish? Your cousin is throwing a birthday party FOR HER DOG!”

    “She’s lovely. She doesn’t have kids. She needs this.”

    “You don’t do ridiculous things like this, and you don’t have kids.”

    “I’m not so sure about that…”

    “What did you say?”

    “I said I’ll bring you back a party hat. And don’t go thinking that you can get out of everything like this just because you’re getting out of this, you hear?”

    “Yes, ma’am.”

    “Wipe. That smug look. Off your face. I’ll see you later.”

    “‘Bye.”

Leave a Reply

